To Be The Man, You have To Be A Man

The old saying is, “to be the man, you have to beat the man”. I disagree, as you can see from my title. I have been around for nearly 3 decades, which is nothing compared to others. I have had my ups and downs and through it all I keep learning one thing… Man the F up! 

Of course this is easier said than done. Heck even writing this blog is not easy. I am coming across many blank thoughts and road blocks. Sounds like life, doesn’t it? Question is, do I stay and fight, keep pushing forward? Or do I find an excuse not to finish this and pretend something is out of my element? Now I know what my skill level is and what I can achieve. What I do not know is how much more I can learn and continue to achieve unless I take the next step forward. People and obstacles may try to push me one step back, and they could succeed in doing so, but what is stopping me from getting right back pushing through that wall? 

Sadly in the last year, a few different friends have had their world rocked by the passing of each of their fathers. While I did not know them all on a personal level, I know what they left behind. These friends of mine are great people, all with different characteristics. Something they learned from their fathers, who all had to become men in order for their child to survive this world. 

Now I am not dissing any of the women, but I am a guy, so it would be hard for me to tell you what a woman goes through. So I will leave that to someone else, or perhaps one day write about it after doing some time with women I know. The point here is, I am sharing my thoughts on being a man. Am I a man? Yes, of course I am. But am I THE MAN? Oh hell no. Am I on my way to becoming the man? I better freaking be! 

How does one become the man? It cannot be done overnight nor by one simple action. This much I have learned. And learning is definitely part of the process. To learn you must be willing and an open book. It will take a lifetime for any man to achieve this, and I hope I do. I have to man up, take chances and make great sacrifices. Defeat my obstacles and lead by example. There is a long, unknown path waiting for me to travel upon it. Until then, I will be a man learning to become THE MAN…

Leave a Reply

